longboard- allrounder or noserider

Any discussion on shaping, designing, repairing and riding surfcraft of any type or shape. Also a good place to ask the 'what board should I buy?' question.

longboard- allrounder or noserider

Postby curry1curry » Mon Jun 28, 2010 1:45 pm

Hiya all,

Help needed or longboard needed that will noseride and turn well too???? (needs to noseride forgivingly as I’m new to noseriding but able to ride longboard ok and turn, trim etc)

I have been reading up in this forum on noseriders/longboards and going into surf shops in braunton in order to try and get info to buy the right board (the trouble with boards is that you cant generally try before you buy ) and am still confused!!.

There are forum topics that some say you can get these allrounder longboards and others who say don’t bother- buy 2 boards!

I have a roger cooper 9 2 (not sure of stats as it doesn’t have them on board- hard rails and non noseridery), I think its a ‘commonal garden’ one… I tried a mac tavish 9 1 original and was stunned at how easy to turn it was compared to my board. But I could only get to the label by cross stepping (but this may have been my poor technique).

Have been recommended mactavish fireball which apparently is easier to noseride and turns as well?

Loosefit in Braunton do a Lonsdale 9 2 which is similar to this but a bit cheaper. Of course black and white do a performance noserider… but i cant try this before I buy  .

Any advice or of anyone has one that they want to sell let me know??

Trev 

i guess my main issue here is... i enjoy a longboard that turns well but want to learn to noseride,... but am thinking an allrounder will be too unforgiving to learn to noseride on so it might be better to get an out and out noserider to learn on and buy a performance longboard as well...???
curry1curry

Re: longboard- allrounder or noserider (anyone got one for sale?

Postby Jory » Mon Jun 28, 2010 9:15 pm

hmm

It is confusing stuff :wink: