Hull or Grimsby in disguise?

Any discussion on shaping, designing, repairing and riding surfcraft of any type or shape. Also a good place to ask the 'what board should I buy?' question.

Hull or Grimsby in disguise?

Postby browncurtains » Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:48 pm

whats this Hull love about then?
in simple terms explain whats the deal, preferably by someone who knows the feel to of pumping rail to rail as well as getting vert at some point in their time......
browncurtains

Re: Hull or Grimsby in disguise?

Postby ears » Wed Jul 03, 2013 6:06 pm

I'm no expert (at anything) but for me the pleasure is in having a board that needs very little input.. It takes off and goes where it wants to go.. You can choose to link top and bottom turns and the speed will increase.. They beat sections as well as a log 3' longer.. They plane thru flat sections and then take off again if the wave walls up.. You can choose to do nothing and they still trim amazingly.. You can chuck them about a bit if you've got the skills but really its about big swooping bottom turns, trimming a high line and picking the moment to swoop again.. I rode my first non hulled board in about five years earlier this year and was amazed at how easily it went vert (in my mind at least) it goes way better than a hull in big onshore stuff and felt really solid in pumping winter swell, happy to take crazy late drops etc.. A hull won't want to do any of that.. But it took me a while to get my head round the fact that if I didn't put the work in the non hulled board just kind of died in all but the best waves.. Rider error for sure but not just that. Anyway, I'm back on the hulls.. Landlocked with a new liddle waiting to get wet... :-)
ears

Postby flacky » Wed Jul 03, 2013 7:37 pm