N Spain or SW France in July

Information, advice or questions on travelling to surf. Or reports and photos from your recent trips.

N Spain or SW France in July

Postby SDB » Wed May 01, 2013 12:15 pm

Hi there everyone!

I'm looking to do a van trip with my wife and 1 year old boy this summer and am in 2 minds as to where to go, SW France (Hourtin/Carcans area) or to get the ferry down to Santander and explore N Spain. There are pros and cons as to both (I speak French, not Spanish; it's maybe cheaper to get to France than Spain tho (we live in N Devon and would prob leave Plymouth), it may be busier in France than Spain with tourists (?), there may be better campsites with shade in Spain - I'm thinking of the little boy, and my missus is keen to visit markets, etc and not just sit on the beach all day), but obviously i'm keen to get waves....

I know it's not the best time to go but as a teacher I can't do September and def don't want to be there in August. So can anyone give me some thoughts on good camping spots (pref close to the beach) which you'd recommend in either country...

I am also aware of needing to get on and book camping pitches asap too.

Thanks very much
SDB
SDB

Re: N Spain or SW France in July

Postby griggo » Sat May 04, 2013 5:48 pm

What a coincidence, spoke to a guy at work about this yesterday! He's a teacher too! Seb, I've heard the Santander crossing is a mission, but probably so is driving 1500 mile round trip with a 1 year old!
griggo

Postby Philshoz » Sat May 04, 2013 8:07 pm

Have you considered Brittany?
Not too far, loads of spots, less crowded than down south.
Not the weather though......
http://pshorrock.wix.com/phil-shorrock---photography
Philshoz

Postby Leven » Sat May 04, 2013 9:48 pm