longboard fin size

Any questions about learning to surf, or general questions about equipment, technique or improving your surfing.

longboard fin size

Postby rask » Sat Jan 17, 2009 11:53 pm

I am a beginner with 9"1' board, which has a 7 inch single fin. I know this is too small so am buying a new one, and need advice. I am just at the stage of standing up on the board and just want a basic fin that will help me catch waves, not really after performance, more like stability and control. Any recommendations on single fin size and placement (forward or back)? is 9" a safe bet? what about rake and base width?
rask

Re: longboard fin size

Postby onefinleary » Sun Jan 18, 2009 1:02 pm

Well my advice would be to step away from the 9'1" and get a board right for learning on. Get a 7'6"-8'6" mini mall that has three fins and rails that are forgiving for learners turning ability.

It's all well and good wanting to understand the principals of surfing but whilst you're learning just forget about the science of rake and fin size et al.

Driving instructors teach people to learn to drive in Ford Fiestas and Renault Clios for a reason. If they rocked up in an F1 car and then you were wondering if the reason you didn't do your 3-point-turn was because there wasn't enough down force...

Right tools for the right job and all that stuff... :roll:
If only there was a simpler way to get difficult things done.
http://www.mark-leary.com/
onefinleary

Postby rask » Sun Jan 18, 2009 2:05 pm

Thanks for the reply, most of the other advice i have had up to now suggests that a 9'1" with single fin is a good setup for learning on . Big board= easier to catch waves on, single fin= control, rather than speed and drive from 3 fins? It would be great to be able to have a go on different board sizes to compare but i'm not really in the position to do that. Given that i've got a 9'1 for the moment, what would you recommend about fin size and shape..?
rask