Thoughts on this board pls?

Any questions about learning to surf, or general questions about equipment, technique or improving your surfing.

Thoughts on this board pls?

Postby nexusfox » Sun Sep 18, 2011 10:38 pm

Hi All,

Apologies if this has been discussed before, I'm a beginner and took a few lessons and am interested in getting my own board. I saw online for these soft-top but not sure what you guys think about it.

http://www.softsurfboards.com/Soft%20SurfBoards.htm

They're called liquid shredders and it's vinyl covered soft boards, and they just seem a bit better than the usual beginner foam boards that I've been using in lessons because those could become water logged and difficult to use. Anyone had any experience with them? Or other recommendations?

Thanks!
nexusfox

Re: Thoughts on this board pls?

Postby Jim Birtwisle » Tue Sep 20, 2011 6:09 pm

People have different opinions on these. Personally I would only stick to a soft top whilst your renting stuff from a surf shop. They are very useful when you first start trying to get to grips with the very basics. However if you're going to be putting in a lot of time in the water and have the determination to learn then I wouldn't buy one of these for yourself. Get a used, custom shaped board suitable to your size (a mini mal is perfect) as soon as you have mastered the whitewater on the foam tops from the shop. It is a bit of a learning curve but nothing you can't cope with if you put the hours in.