novice surfers

Any questions about learning to surf, or general questions about equipment, technique or improving your surfing.

novice surfers

Postby noodles09 » Wed Feb 15, 2012 8:52 pm

hi,

i was hoping for some help. ive been surfing twice one on the west of ireland and the second time in the ne of england. ??if the boards were bigger the second time but it was certainly easier. I've just moved closer to the coast and as a birthday present was hoping to buy my boyfriend a wetsuit and surfboard but i truthfully have no idea where to start. As i need two sets (his and mine) ideally not a £500 board. Also in terms of suit thickness what's recommended??

any help would be gratefully!!
thanks
noodles09

Re: novice surfers

Postby desmontracy » Sun Feb 19, 2012 7:40 am

Just like you I am still a beginner on surfing and as of now as much as I want to continue it I couldn't. I got an injury on my left foot so my doctor advise me to undergo some therapy for 3 months at least. I'm sure great surfers would help you here. :)

Postby Tony_Flow » Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:23 pm

Hi there,

I live in the West of Ireland and I use a 5 mil wetsuit throughout the year although if it does warm up a bit you can get away with a 3 mil in the summer but it would want to be really warm out there.

At the moment you'll def need the 5 mil and booties, hood and gloves (tis cold :L)

Boards wise you could go the second hand route and get a mini-mal each somewhere around 7-8 ft. I started on a Bic 7'3 and they are great beginner boards cos you cant break them or really damage them and you can pick them up at good prices new and second hand. I got mine with a boardbag and leash on kingofwatersports.com but i'd say magic seaweed probably has starter packs too

Enjoy it!!

TF
Tony_Flow

Postby noodles09 » Tue Feb 21, 2012 9:08 pm

hi,