The Next Step - 2nd board advice

Any questions about learning to surf, or general questions about equipment, technique or improving your surfing.

The Next Step - 2nd board advice

Postby swellpapa » Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:13 am

I've been surfing for 3 years now, a later starter I'm 41 and have made slow but steady progress and loved (nearly) every minute of it. I live a couple of minutes from my local break so manage to get out twice a week or so, sometimes a lot more if the fates (wind,swell, tides, lack of work etc) come together. It's generally a pretty ordinary break, short rides, lots of dumpers but fairly safe too. There's lots of better breaks close by which I've been tackling more often of late (when they're small enough!) I've been riding a 7' 2" NSP funboard (and a 7' 10" NSP in smaller stuff) and they've been fine but I've found the last 6 months I'm getting a bit frustrated with the 7" 2' ,especially out in the better more powerful breaks with steeper take offs. My paddling is pretty good now, positioning improving and I'm trying to make a bit more happen on the face other than just trimming along. I've tried a couple of 7S superfish but found whilst they were easy to catch waves with I didn't like the skatiness of them much. I tried an old McCoy Nugget 6" 10' and really enjoyed riding that, so easy to turn compared to my NSP but even easier to catch waves on and nearly possible to duck dive. Could anyone out there give me some suggestions for my next board? I think the custom Nugget is a bit out my range unfortunately but basically I'm looking for something a with a bit less length than my NSP but similar width and thickness ( 21' and 2 3/4'). I'm not very heavy, 71 kg with a 4:3wettie on, but being old and not particulary muscley something with paddle power is a must!
swellpapa

Re: The Next Step - 2nd board advice

Postby Jim Birtwisle » Thu Apr 19, 2012 1:29 pm