Mini Simmons: are they too hard to ride?

Chat about anything surf related here - latest sessions, incoming swells, surf travel, learn to surf and more. Everyone and anyone welcome. Try to keep it friendly...

Mini Simmons: are they too hard to ride?

Postby littlefoot » Tue Mar 29, 2011 11:59 pm

Hi,

I previously posted this on learn to surf but thought it might be more suitable as a general topic...

Ok, so I've been reading heaps of stuff on mini simmons boards but I haven't found much on their degree of difficulty concerning intermediate surfers (everyone talking about how they surf seems to have been surfing for ages, and they probably have). So that's my question: are they a reasonable summer board for the intermediate bloke like me? I've been surfing for about two years, do a couple of cutbacks on my 6'4" shortboard and all.

But do they take a ton of expertise or just some "getting used to"? The last thing I want is a board stored away in the garage waiting for me to get better.

A local shaper recommends I get a 5'6" 22" 3". I was thinking of a quad setup too. By the way, I'm 140lb, physically fit, and about as tall as the would-be board.

I'd appreciate your opinions greatly.
L.
littlefoot

Re: Mini Simmons: are they too hard to ride?

Postby mrkmrk2842 » Wed Mar 30, 2011 8:48 am