limiting bandwidth

A place for regulars and new visitors to talk about whatever comes to mind. An opportunity to share your 'non-surf' wisdom with the rest of us.

limiting bandwidth

Postby Vince Noir » Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:16 pm

anyone know how ?


i have a really bad 5 mbps down and 400kbps up. my ping for online games is about 40-60ms at best, (although games always put me into 100ms lobbies)

the moment a housemate fires up a webpage or something, i get horrid lag spikes. worst offender is the fucking student squatter in my house that has no job and sits watching tv shows like big bang theory, all, fucking, day



i have already put a limit on the wireless to 5kbps up and 150kbps (roughly 1 meg speed), yet every time he is online i still can't use the internet. i have even set traffic mapping classes, and assigned his IP to the lowest (10% of bandwidth), yet it just doesn't seem to work

the only other thing i can think of is to continually turn the wireless on and off for 5mins at a time, but this is rather puerile and isn't practical. i have asked him to download overnight instead of streaming, but he doesn't seem to take the hint

any suggestions ?
User avatar
Vince Noir
 
Posts: 3383
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: Your mamma's hairy axe wound

Re: limiting bandwidth

Postby majordom » Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:24 pm

stop watching so much online porn
User avatar
majordom
 
Posts: 1776
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 3:01 pm

Re: limiting bandwidth

Postby ATTMFKH » Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:44 pm

knock fuck out of him , lazy cunt
Are We Too Deep ...............
User avatar
ATTMFKH
 
Posts: 8004
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:13 pm
Location: THE CULT of WHEY

Re: limiting bandwidth

Postby Vince Noir » Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:56 pm

majordom wrote:stop watching so much online porn


no

ATTMFKH wrote:knock fuck out of him , lazy cunt


as much as id like to, its not really going to be the best option
User avatar
Vince Noir
 
Posts: 3383
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: Your mamma's hairy axe wound

Re: limiting bandwidth

Postby roberdy » Tue Jul 03, 2012 8:30 pm

change the fricken wireless password and tell him if he doesn't shape up he can fuck off.
-------------------------------------------------------
The Janitor
User avatar
roberdy
 
Posts: 4091
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Bris-vegas

Re: limiting bandwidth

Postby Kamikaze » Tue Jul 03, 2012 9:17 pm

What make/model router have you got?
Image
User avatar
Kamikaze
 
Posts: 2134
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 12:51 pm
Location: Sunny, yet normally flat Bournemouth

Re: limiting bandwidth

Postby swiggy » Tue Jul 03, 2012 11:28 pm

Vince Noir wrote: fucking student squatter in my house that has no job


Pot meet kettle :lol:


Vince Noir wrote:i have already put a limit on the wireless to 5kbps up and 150kbps (roughly 1 meg speed), yet every time he is online i still can't use the internet. i have even set traffic mapping classes, and assigned his IP to the lowest (10% of bandwidth), yet it just doesn't seem to work



Thats weird, what sort of speeds do you usually get? You rarely get the advertised speed, is 150kbps still taking up most of your bandwidth? Is he being allocated a different IP every time he connects to the router, so the traffic mapping isn't applied?
swiggy
 
Posts: 2967
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 1:54 pm
Location: Victoria, vancouver island canada

Re: limiting bandwidth

Postby Vince Noir » Wed Jul 04, 2012 9:16 am

Kamikaze wrote:What make/model router have you got?


orange bright box. has quality of service functions but they don't seem to work

roberdy wrote:change the fricken wireless password and tell him if he doesn't shape up he can fuck off.



not quite as simple as that as he pays for it. if i accuse him of using all the bandwidth, he denies it, and its not like i can go onto his laptop and check every 5 minutes

swiggy wrote:
Vince Noir wrote: fucking student squatter in my house that has no job


Pot meet kettle :lol:

Thats weird, what sort of speeds do you usually get? You rarely get the advertised speed, is 150kbps still taking up most of your bandwidth? Is he being allocated a different IP every time he connects to the router, so the traffic mapping isn't applied?


ha. i am working 5-6 days a week. he is not at uni, says he's trying to restart his art degree next year, has no job, does fuck all and wants to claim housing benefits etc

i normally get 3-4 meg down and 300kb up...but like i say, my ping goes through the roof really easily if someone else is online..i can deal with it to a point, but as you can imagine, online real time applications suffer when you ping is 600ms and jitter is around 50ms .

it gets to the point where i can't even open web pages anymore. his IP is static and i assigned the traffic mapping to that IP, yet whenever its just me and him connected to the router I'm still unable to do anything..i dropped the wireless limiting down to 50kbs down last night, and it still seems like he has all the bandwidth..the other thing is that its only him who hasn't complained that they can't connect etc
User avatar
Vince Noir
 
Posts: 3383
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: Your mamma's hairy axe wound

Re: limiting bandwidth

Postby Kamikaze » Wed Jul 04, 2012 11:48 am

I've just had a quick shufty on the net, and you aren't the only person thats moaning about the brightbox. The qos only appears to apply to the wifi part rather than the adsl it'self, which I'd have said made it next best to useless.

if "any" traffic is going down the line it will affect your ping response, I have a similar speed line at home, and I usually wind up in games with the 70-100ms crowd (usually french!).

The trouble with qos is that whilst it is quite at controlling outbound traffic, it's not so good at controlling inbound, whilst some routers can control this its never as effective as outbound control.

Your best bet is buy a router that has proper qos. the Linksys ones are pretty good, but most of the mid range brands should do what you want. you'd also have the advantage of being able to put the ps3 in a dmz, which makes modern warefare behave better.


Assuming you are still in york, one of the exchanges has been upgraded to superfast, that should sort all your probs if you can get it. stick your phone number in here - >> http://www.samknows.com/broadband/broadband_checker if FTTC is on the list, ask orange if you can upgrade.
Image
User avatar
Kamikaze
 
Posts: 2134
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 12:51 pm
Location: Sunny, yet normally flat Bournemouth

Re: limiting bandwidth

Postby Vince Noir » Wed Jul 04, 2012 1:47 pm

ah bt have gotten round to my exchange at last. bet you orange won't do shit, and my contract ends in october anyway


the qos does only relate to the wireless function (this chap uses wireless, everyone else uses wired). i have all my ports forwarded for the games i play...looks like i will have to wait to move out and get a place with better internet and housemates!
User avatar
Vince Noir
 
Posts: 3383
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: Your mamma's hairy axe wound

Re: limiting bandwidth

Postby Kamikaze » Wed Jul 04, 2012 3:31 pm

Orange just resell the BT superfast and rebrand it, so if BT can supply it the Orange should be able to.


Try and get a place as close to the exchange as possible next time. It's postcode is YO1 7NT

the qos does only relate to the wireless function (this chap uses wireless, everyone else uses wired). i have all my ports forwarded for the games i play...looks like i will have to wait to move out and get a place with better internet and housemates!


and they are probably saying the same about you!
Image
User avatar
Kamikaze
 
Posts: 2134
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 12:51 pm
Location: Sunny, yet normally flat Bournemouth


Return to Chat (Non-Surf Related)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest