animations

A place for regulars and new visitors to talk about whatever comes to mind. An opportunity to share your 'non-surf' wisdom with the rest of us.

animations

Postby ned1 » Tue Aug 17, 2004 10:53 pm

does any one know what plugin is required so the wave animations will run as i,ve recently formatted my computer and now they don,t run.
:cry:
cheers

ned
User avatar
ned1
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Torbay

Postby Surf Monkey » Wed Aug 18, 2004 7:15 am

are you on a slow conection? used to take forever to load when i was on 56k
Throw the tail, bury the rail
Surf Monkey
 
Posts: 619
Joined: Fri Jul 09, 2004 2:58 pm
Location: Devon

Postby ned1 » Wed Aug 18, 2004 8:53 am

thanks for the reply guys i,m running xp and using ie6 i,ve done all the windows updates checked the options to allow animations to play and i,m on broadband and never had a problem with download speed before. so not really sure whats going on.

ned
User avatar
ned1
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Torbay

Postby swordie » Wed Aug 18, 2004 9:51 am

heh, IE.

Preaching now.

Ditch IE and head for mozilla. less fuss, less nasties, less holes.

Even better it's open source - so no pennies in Micro$hafts pockets [for all that IE is 'free' it's still crap, and they tie you into their world in other ways]

Hell I'd ditch windows too, but my linux skills are minimal.

preach off
I excell at not giving a shit

http://lostcoast.blogspot.com/
User avatar
swordie
 
Posts: 2521
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 3:01 pm
Location: hell's mouth, wales

Postby Powl » Wed Aug 18, 2004 10:03 am

Techie guy at work is an open source freak. Agree with you about mozilla/firefox, that's what I use, but I'm not really into that openoffice crap and whatnot... Sorry, what a dull post :?
User avatar
Powl
 
Posts: 2103
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2003 8:38 am
Location: Manchester

Postby swordie » Wed Aug 18, 2004 10:47 am

yeah but this is the dull post thread :D

I like mozilla firefox, even tho it does have the glitches you often get with opensource. Still using Hotmail tho, cos amazingly it works and has never let me down.

Have'nt tried Thunderbird yet.

Used a mates applemac for a while - now there's the dog's 'nads [no good for gaming tho']
I excell at not giving a shit

http://lostcoast.blogspot.com/
User avatar
swordie
 
Posts: 2521
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2003 3:01 pm
Location: hell's mouth, wales

Postby Grizzly » Wed Aug 18, 2004 10:49 am

My major complaint with Macs is the mice. How the hell are you suppossed to get by with just one mouse button? Barbarism.
As for browsers, I'm using Firefox with SUSE 9.1. Yum. Plus it comes with quite a fetching anorak...
Gorau dial, dangos cwm a'i ffadau.
http://singlefin.blogspot.com
User avatar
Grizzly
 
Posts: 1941
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Aberystwyth

Postby Zoidberg » Wed Aug 18, 2004 10:52 am

Yeah Macs are pretty good. I've got an iMac about 5 years old but better than mosts of my mates new PC's, my dads got a G4 Cube and my sister got a G4 iBook lap top
Image
Best comps there are.

Cheers
Image
User avatar
Zoidberg
 
Posts: 297
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2003 11:47 am
Location: Devon, jolly Exeter

Postby [REZ] » Wed Aug 18, 2004 12:32 pm

dont get me started on the mac v's pc debate...i have only used macs ..but thats kinda goes with my job they handle graphic applications far better than pc's and yes swordie is right ...not that good for games...software companies spend loads of time making the game for the pc then if they have any money left over they might make a mac version!!!
The new G5 is the absolute mutts nuts. Maybe next year when i get some money sorted out...on the otherhand a new stick would be nicer...and far more enjoyable 8)
Heres a pick of me mac...bit geeky taking a pic of a computer :oops:

Image
User avatar
[REZ]
 
Posts: 2153
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2003 7:09 pm
Location: London / Les Landes

Postby Paddy.James » Wed Aug 18, 2004 1:10 pm

i seen some very new games thats work on mac processors....
User avatar
Paddy.James
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 3:53 pm
Location: Bidefornia

Postby DJ » Wed Aug 18, 2004 1:24 pm

i use a G4 iBook and Tony Hawk Pro Skater 4 works just fine and dandy!
User avatar
DJ
 
Posts: 554
Joined: Tue Jul 06, 2004 2:09 pm
Location: Tynemouth

Postby ned1 » Thu Aug 19, 2004 8:11 am

guess ill just go and buy a mac then. :lol:

cheers

ned
User avatar
ned1
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Torbay

Postby Paddy.James » Thu Aug 19, 2004 8:23 am

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
User avatar
Paddy.James
 
Posts: 472
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2003 3:53 pm
Location: Bidefornia

Postby ned1 » Thu Aug 19, 2004 8:32 am

no seriously ill just have to scratch me head and sort the problem i also check the noaa site as well and the animations don,t run off that eithe,r mind you ill probably end up getting a virus or something and it will probably end up fixing itself-- good old microsoft.
User avatar
ned1
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Torbay

Postby ned1 » Thu Aug 19, 2004 9:01 am

after about an hour looking through various forums turned out my firewall was stopping animations now all sorted my life can now return to normall ie whats the swell doing and everything alse can revolve around that. :D
User avatar
ned1
 
Posts: 449
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 12:00 am
Location: Torbay


Return to Chat (Non-Surf Related)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest